Welcome to AutoBoardz.com!
FAQFAQ      ProfileProfile    Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in

Ebay Scam

 
   AutoBoardz (Home) -> Studebaker -> Studebaker Avanti Forum RSS
Next:  GA State Meet  
Author Message
BobJ

External


Since: Nov 23, 2007
Posts: 15



(Msg. 1) Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:31 pm
Post subject: Ebay Scam
Archived from groups: alt>autos>studebaker (more info?)

If it walks like a duck, smells like a duck, etc

<http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Studebaker-1967-Studebaker_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ6466QQihZ008QQitemZ180229644906QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW>

 >> Stay informed about: Ebay Scam 
Back to top
Login to vote
Karl Haas

External


Since: Nov 19, 2007
Posts: 57



(Msg. 2) Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 2:35 pm
Post subject: Re: Ebay Scam [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

On Apr 3, 11:31 am, BobJ <jon....TakeThisOut@excite.com> wrote:
> If it walks like a duck, smells like a duck, etc
>
> <http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Studebaker-1967-Studebaker_W0QQcmdZVie...>

It had been pulled by 2:30 PM Sat (PDT). What was it?

 >> Stay informed about: Ebay Scam 
Back to top
Login to vote
BobJ

External


Since: Nov 23, 2007
Posts: 15



(Msg. 3) Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:38 pm
Post subject: Re: Ebay Scam [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

Karl Haas wrote:
> On Apr 3, 11:31 am, BobJ <jon....DeleteThis@excite.com> wrote:
>> If it walks like a duck, smells like a duck, etc
>>
>> <http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Studebaker-1967-Studebaker_W0QQcmdZVie...>
>
> It had been pulled by 2:30 PM Sat (PDT). What was it?


Listed as a "1967 Studebaker", really an Avanti II. I saw
this on Ebay and as usual queried the seller for the VIN, so
I could add it to the list I keep...
He comes back with this... Note the eloquence.....
hahah flaws, dents(?)
------------
Thank you for contacting me about the 1967 Studebaker.
About the car: The car is in perfect conditions, no flaws or
dents, no scratches or any kind of damage, no engine
problems. The interior is in like new condition and has
never been smoked in. The car is still US registered so you
will not have to pay any custom taxes.
The problem is that I had to move with my family in Warsaw,
Poland where I got a new job transfer. I brought the car
here with me with the intention of driving it but when I
found out about the very high import duties and all the
restrictions regarding registration and emissions tests here
I've changed my mind and I've decided to sell the vehicle. I
want to sell it in US because is still registered there.
The amount you will have to pay in order to own this vehicle
is $6200! I want to take this opportunity to assure you that
this deal is 100% legitimate, the financial part of this
deal will be managed by a third party, in this way both of
us will be protected. They will keep the payment until you
receive the item and test it.

So if you really want it please email me as soon as
possible. Thank you, Edward Toppins
-----------
 >> Stay informed about: Ebay Scam 
Back to top
Login to vote
Karl Haas

External


Since: Nov 19, 2007
Posts: 57



(Msg. 4) Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:17 pm
Post subject: Re: Ebay Scam [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

On Apr 5, 3:38 pm, BobJ <jon....TakeThisOut@excite.com> wrote:
> Karl Haas wrote:
> > On Apr 3, 11:31 am, BobJ <jon....TakeThisOut@excite.com> wrote:
> >> If it walks like a duck, smells like a duck, etc
>
> >> <http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Studebaker-1967-Studebaker_W0QQcmdZVie....>
>
> > It had been pulled by 2:30 PM Sat (PDT). What was it?
>
> Listed as a "1967 Studebaker", really an Avanti II.  I saw
> this on Ebay and as usual queried the seller for the VIN, so
> I could add it to the list I keep...
>    He comes back with this...      Note the eloquence.....
> hahah  flaws, dents(?)
> ------------
> Thank you for contacting me about the 1967 Studebaker.
> About the car: The car is in perfect conditions, no flaws or
> dents, no scratches or any kind of damage, no engine
> problems. The interior is in like new condition and has
> never been smoked in. The car is still US registered so you
> will not have to pay any custom taxes.
> The problem is that I had to move with my family in Warsaw,
> Poland where I got a new job transfer. I brought the car
> here with me with  the intention of driving it but when I
> found out about the very high import duties and all the
> restrictions regarding registration and emissions tests here
> I've changed my mind and I've decided to sell the vehicle. I
> want to sell it in US because is still registered there.
> The amount you will have to pay in order to own this vehicle
> is $6200! I want to take this opportunity to assure you that
> this deal is 100% legitimate, the financial part of this
> deal will be managed by a third party, in this way both of
> us will be protected. They will keep the payment until you
> receive the item and test it.
>
> So if you really want it please email me as soon as
> possible. Thank you, Edward Toppins
> -----------

You seem to distrust people for no reason at all. <g>
(I saw the '67 and figured that the picture or S/N would explain what
was probebly a reasonable error. Guess I was wrong!
I wonder what would happen if one of our European members showed up
with a trailer and cash.
 >> Stay informed about: Ebay Scam 
Back to top
Login to vote
Display posts from previous:   
Related Topics:
Ebay Scam! - <http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Studebaker-6-000-BIN-Buy-It-Now-1931-STUDEBAKER-54-R-ROADSTER_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ6466QQihZ002QQitemZ120039521872>

Ebay scam????? - Is this listing too good to be true???????? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1937-STUDEBAKER-DICTATOR-350-cubic-inch-Chevy-V8_W0QQitemZ220081632122QQihZ012QQcategoryZ6466QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Ebay Coupe Express Scam????? - http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1937-Studebaker-J-5-Coupe-Express_W0QQitemZ320165019597QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item320165019597 Is this ebay ad for $6200 Buy it Now just a dream or a nightmare about to come true for someone?

eBay '55 pres - A 1955 Studebaker President Hard Top W/O PS, PB, Dual exaust, 4bbl. but with a spin on oil filter. I don't think so. What model engine do you guys think that is? I like the car, just may bid on it. Any of youse guys know the car? Jerry Forrester

New ebay tax - The 2008 proposed budget contains a provision that would require ebay to report to the IRS any seller that does $5000 in gross sales in one year. Ebay is fighting it since it does not apply to any other private sales, auctions, Craig's list and the..
   AutoBoardz (Home) -> Studebaker -> Studebaker Avanti Forum All times are: Pacific Time (US & Canada) (change)
Page 1 of 1

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



[ Contact us | Terms of Service/Privacy Policy ]